A Weekend at Leisure

Slightly failed in my resolution to have one day off a week – so I made up for it with two days over the weekend, having the excuse of a rare visit from one of my best friends. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time catching up and sharing our art work. I’m really excited for her as she’s just managed to get some studio space and is beginning to do some wonderful large-scale abstract drawings. We did manage to leave the Village once, for a trip to Corbridge; lured by its many tea shops (I’m rather fond of Tea and Tipple) and especially by Re, a shop selling a cornucopia of delights. A mix of vintage textiles – like locally-made crocheted bedspreads, colourful blankets and cushions made from old silk scarves, and kitsch colourful items from around the world, kitchenware, victorian and modern pressed glass, old metal jelly-moulds, string bags, french creams and soaps….

Re, CorbridgeYou have to look hard to find it – it’s tucked away behind a garage. But once you are inside, it’s an Aladdin’s cave.

Re (Corbridge)Jelly Moulds at Re

Re itself is based in an old workshop building – and they have created small shop spaces inside, using sheds and an old glasshouse to display the widest range of kitchen brushes I’ve found – not to mention wooden sock stretchers (I think !):

Kitchen shop at Re Kitchen at Re Blanket stitch edgings - at Re Metal crowns at Re Garden shop at Re

Their stock changes all the time, so it’s a great place to REvisit (sorry!) Whilst I’m not terribly keen on the skull imagery that’s so popular at the moment – and they do have lots of things featuring them, I do love birds and I couldn’t resist this pressed metal bird – it reminded me rather of Mark Hearld’s work (and here’s a link to a piece my friend fishink wrote about him).

Silver Bird

Thanks so much to them for letting me take lots of photographs. Now it’s back to the studio grindstone….

